Every person in the State of Washington that is arrested for DUI and gives a breath or blood sample over .08, (.02 for minors and CDL operators) or who refuses to take the Datamaster breath test or blood test, will automatically have their privilege to drive suspended or revoked. (See penalties section for details) In the State of Washington, even if your criminal charge of DUI is never filed, or is ultimately dismissed, the Washington State Department of Licensing will still administratively suspend or revoke your license. You must take important steps to challenge these automatic suspensions within 20 days of the violation (or 20 days from the date of notice in Blood test cases) or these suspensions will take effect without any further notice and without any further ability to challenge them. At Veitch Ault & Associates, we give our clients very detailed and explicit instructions on "how, when and why" to send these hearing requests in, to maximize your chances of success.
Dealing with the Department of Licensing may be the most difficult and unpleasant aspect of the entire DUI process. The Department of Licensing uses evidentiary standards totally different than any criminal court and sustains the suspension actions statewide more than 80% of the time. Unlike with the courts and prosecutors, your personal hardships, lack of criminal history and contributions to the community will have no impact with the Department of Licensing. In most Department of Licensing cases, only an aggressive and experienced attorney has any hope of winning these difficult cases. Given the serious ramifications of a DUI offense, it is of the utmost importance to obtain legal representation from a law firm with attorney expertise in dealing with both the criminal charges and the administrative hearings.