Washington State DUI & Criminal Defense Lawyers
DUI Penalties Integrity. Accountability. Experience.

DUI Penalties in Bellevue

What Happens If You’re Charged with a DUI in Washington State?

At Veitch Ault & Associates, we specialize in cases related to DUIs throughout Washington State. If you or a family member has been charged with a DUI in the Bellevue area, you need to understand the potential penalties—and how to fight back. Below, our Bellevue legal team has provided a breakdown of the possible DUI penalties depending on a person’s criminal history and BAC count at the time of their arrest. If you have any questions or would like to discuss your specific case, please don’t hesitate to reach out to Veitch Ault & Associates right away.

We offer free consultations to all new clients. Call (425) 307-5515 or contact us online to discuss your case.

What are the Penalties for DUI in Washington State?

DUI penalties vary on the severity of the crime and whether this was a first or subsequent criminal act. For example, if this is your first DUI arrest and you blew less than .15% when you took a breathalyzer test, your punishments will likely be lighter than if this is a subsequent offense, you blew over a .15%, or refused to comply with the police at all. Read on for a more detailed breakdown.

First DUI Offense (or No Prior DUI Offense in The Last 7 Years)

If this is your first offense ever or in more than seven years and your breathalyzer result is .15% or less, the penalties you can expect include:

  • A minimum of one day in jail OR 15 days of Electronic Home Detention
  • $990.50 or more in fines with a statutory assessment
  • 90-day license suspension
  • SR-22 insurance required for three years
  • Probationary driver’s license for five years after reinstatement
  • Probation monitoring by the court for up to five years
  • Ignition interlock for a minimum of 1 year (with 6-month compliance required for removal)
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by the court

If you test .15% BAC or higher or if you refuse to take a breath test, you can expect:

  • At least two days in jail OR 30 days of Electronic Home Detention
  • A fine of at least $1,245.50
  • One-year license revocation for breath test over .15%; two-year revocation following a refusal
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by the court
  • Ignition interlock for at least one year
  • Probation monitoring by the court for up to five years
  • Probationary driver’s license for five years after reinstatement
  • SR-22 Insurance for three years

Second DUI Offense (or One Prior DUI Offense in The Last 7 Years)

Like first offense DUI charges, the penalties for a second arrest can vary depending on how high your BAC (blood alcohol content) is at the time of your test and whether you refused to take a breathalyzer.

Penalties may include:

  • A minimum of 30-45 days in jail and 60-90 days of Electronic Home Detention OR 4-6 days in jail and 180 days of Electronic Home Detention
  • A minimum of $1,245.50 - $1,670.50 in fines
  • Probation monitoring by the court for up to five years
  • Probationary license for five years after reinstatement
  • SR-22 Insurance for three years
  • Two-year license revocation if you blew .15% or over; three-year license revocation if you refused to take a breathalyzer
  • And more

Third DUI Offense (or 2 Prior DUI Offenses in The Last 7 Years)

Penalties for a third offense can include:

  • At least 90-120 days in jail AND 120-150 days of Electronic Home Detention
  • A minimum $2,095.50 - $2,778 fine with statutory assessment
  • Ignition interlock for up to 10 years
  • Probation monitoring by the court for up to five years
  • Three-to-four-year driver’s license revocation
  • Probationary license for five years after reinstatement
  • SR-22 Insurance for three years
  • And more

Contact Our DUI Defense Team Today!

With our main office located in Bellevue and a satellite office in Lynnwood, the attorneys at Veitch Ault & Associates can conveniently handle DUI cases throughout Western Washington. Our experienced DUI legal team maintains an exceptional practice handling Washington DUI and DWI-related matters. We have over 40 years of combined experience and should be your choice if you need an aggressive and top-rated drunk driving defense law firm.

If you are arrested for drunk driving anywhere in Washington State, Jeff Veitch and Robert Ault are here to help. Regardless of the jurisdiction, a highly skilled criminal and DUI attorney is necessary to help you navigate your way through the complexities of Washington's tough drunk driving laws. If success is your only option, we hope you will consider one of the DUI lawyers at Veitch Ault & Associates to be your choice in Washington State.

Call (425) 307-5515 or contact us online to learn more during a free and confidential case evaluation.

Why Choose Veitch Ault & Associates?

We Are Personally Invested In Your Case
  • Over 40 Years of Combined Experience
  • Your First Initial Consultation Is Free
  • Selected as a SuperLawyer in DUI Defense in each of the past 5 years
  • Dedicated to the Highest Level of Advocacy on Behalf of Their Clients
  • You Will Receive Transparent Communication
  • Successful Defense of Hundreds of DUI Cases

Get Started With a Free Consultation

Please provide details regarding the charges faced.
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.